Returning home: Need to know

Need to know before you go

  • Immigration COVID-19 - First things first who is in and who is not. While border restrictions are in place, stay in the know by checking Immigration NZ before you make the move.
  • NZ COVID-19 official government information - New Zealand has a strictly managed isolation policy, check what is covered and what is not and where you can pre-book your managed isolation. 

What Next  

  • Living Costs in New Zealand - Living costs for major cities in New Zealand, can vary. Know which location will work best for you.  
  • The average salary for jobs in New Zealand this really does vary dependent on role and industry sector; however, any of our team will be able to give you specific guidance around what you should expect when you arrive in New Zealand.
  • Benefit expectations in New Zealand - benefits like health insurance and the pension are rare with packages, which generally consist of base salary and KiwiSaver. Roles that require travel or some senior positions will come with either a company car or car allowance and a bonus/commission structure may also be included, depending on role and function. 
  • Sick leave in New Zealand - most employees are entitled to five days’ sick leave a year. If you are on a temp contract, this can vary. 
  • Annual leave in New Zealand - almost all employees are entitled to at least 4 weeks annual leave per year. You get your annual leave entitlement on the anniversary of the day you started working for your employer. Most employers let you use annual leave before your one year anniversary - this is called leave in advance.  
  • Parental leave in New Zealand - You are entitled to 26 weeks of Government-funded parental leave and 52 weeks of unpaid leave if you’ve worked for the company for more than a year or 26 weeks unpaid if it’s six months to a year  
  • 90 day trials - only businesses with fewer than 19 employees can use a 90 day trial period if the employee hasn’t worked for them previously 
  • KiwiSaver - KiwiSaver is a voluntary savings scheme to help set you up for your retirement. You can make regular contributions from your pay or directly to your scheme provider. 
  • Public holidays and anniversary dates  

Hear from Tribe candidates who have made the move

  • Digital and Data Roles
  • Technology Roles
  • Sales and Marketing Roles
  • Accounting and Finance Roles
  • Executive and GM Level Roles

Relevant Articles

How Can We Help

Brad Gatehouse image

Brad Gatehouse

Head of Finance & Operations

brad@tribegroup.com
+64 27 611 3638
linkedin

Daniel Percival image

Daniel Percival

Lead Supply Chain, Procurement & Operations

daniel@tribegroup.com
+64 27 403 0801
linkedin

Chelsi Clifton image

Chelsi Clifton

Head of Knowledge & Research

chelsi@tribegroup.com
+64 21 996 927
linkedin

Make the Move
 
Lidya Paljk image

Lidya Paljk

Head of Customer Service & Contact Centre

lidya@tribegroup.com
+64 22 618 8339
linkedin

Cathi Thomson image

Cathi Thomson

Head of Business & Admin Support

cathi@tribegroup.com
+64 22 071 5840
linkedin

Cameron King image

Cameron King

Head of Sales & Marketing

cameron@tribegroup.com
+64 22 073 1320
linkedin

Sarah White image

Sarah White

Head of Digital, Data & Technology

sarahw@tribegroup.com
+64 27 505 3472
linkedin

Sandy Gibbs image

Sandy Gibbs

Lead People, Culture & Capability

sandy@tribegroup.com
+64 27 583 7411
linkedin

Kelly Dillon image

Kelly Dillon

Head of Contracting - All Disciplines

kelly@tribegroup.com
+64 21 147 1825
linkedin